Who’s Flying the Plane?

I recently heard a new twist on an old expression it went like this: If God is your co-pilot change seats. It is so true, many of us try to fly our own course only turning to God when we get lost or hit some heavy turbulence. I know in my life I have difficulty giving up control. Fortunately God also knows that we have this difficulty and offers us his grace through the sacraments and prayer.

Through the Sacraments we receive God and he dwells in us. He takes the co-pilot’s seat never presuming but waiting for our invitation to take over the controls. It is through prayer that we communicate with God. In prayer we acknowledge God’s presence and hopefully listen to Him. Frequent prayer helps to conform our will to God’s will. I thought I would share with you in this first post a reflection on the Lord’s Prayer and the guidance it offers us as presented by Fr. Barron from Word On Fire.

I thought I would close with a prayer I learned from a priest confessor during my weekend at Steubenville East with the youth from my parish. It is a simple prayer I believe is appropriate. Jesus meek and humble of heart, make my heart like unto Thine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Who’s Flying the Plane?

  1. Sue says:

    Great first post. Keep up the good work.

  2. captjeff says:

    Great post! As a captain for a major worldwide airline, I can assure you that it is God working through me to fly the airplane, or as one very popular radio talkshow host likes to say, “talent on loan from God.”

    It was great meeting you and your wife at the CNMC last week. Keep up the good work!

    God Bless,
    “Capt. Jeff”
    CatholicPilot.com

Leave a Reply

